post-holiday post

Yeppers. I’m back in Davis after a long bumpy flight into Oakland. The idea of 120 mile an hour headwinds clearly seems disastrous down here on the ground, but apparently when you’re 36,000 feet in the air cruising at 450 m.p.h. inside a metal tube with wings it’s no big deal. So my non stop flight out of Logan had to touch down in Denver for a quick refueling. I think it’s because gas prices were cheaper there, but I can’t be sure. Or maybe the pilot was using his gas card for points?

The vacation back home in NH was nothing short of fantastic. Lots of hang time with family and friends. I tried to run at least every other day, and stuck with it for the first week, but after that my routine slacked as I slowly drifted into a pleasant holiday cocoon of wine and relaxation. I will add that I did get a long run in that, when mapped on Google Earth, indicated my route was just about 11 miles. And damn was it hilly. So I’m feeling even better about the prospects of running the Davis Stampede come February.

Alas, it’s back to the grind with work, classes, running and eating a little bit better. That being said, I am looking forward to the Christmas season and sipping more wine by the fire. I’ll try to keep those visions of sugar plums fresh in my mind while beating the pavement and eating my Brussels sprouts.

Look for a few pics at some point soon. (I still need to get a few from Sonora uploaded) Unfortunately my nose will be in the books this weekend, but I’ll try to get a few snaps up to share.

Ciao ~ Jeff

Leave a comment